abertsquirrel

Thoughts for the Day

Deserving Happiness, I’m Worth it. June 13, 2011

Filed under: Coping with Everyday Life — stormskyblue @ 7:13 am

I’m finally worth more than I’ve been led to in the past.  I finally get that.  I don’t have to be more or do more to win someone’s approval.  I don’t have to give up a part of myself.  I don’t have to sacrifice my morals, dignity or most of all my self worth just to be with someone.  No, I deserve more than that, finally.
I’ve waited a long time.  I’ve thought the other person would come around and BE.  Be happy.  Be kind.  Be honest.  Be forthright.  Be brave.  I couldn’t change any of them.  God knows I tried.  I tried to help.  I thought being me would be enough for them to be happy, kind, honest, forthright and brave.  But I couldn’t give them what they were lacking.  I cried over the effort and the responses.  I cried for the hurt.  Then I found happiness and kindness.  Friends showed me love and compassion.  I gained confidence and became forthright and brave.  I realize I could not find those things in others when I lacked them in myself.  Now there is no one looking at me.  No one calling me and making plans.  No one wanting to take me somewhere.  I look at myself in the mirror and I think positive things.  I talk to myself and make my own plans.  I decide when I want to go and where.  All my life I’ve been waiting for someone to tell me about myself when all along I’m the only one that knew.  Hello me, it’s nice to meet you.  Maybe someday there will be a man who knows himself and would like to meet the true me.  In the meantime, I’m going to just be the best me I can be.  Happiness:  I desire and deserve it.  Finally.

 

2 Responses to “Deserving Happiness, I’m Worth it.”

  1. Jim Williams Says:

    Very good article Judy.
    Yes, you do deserve happiness and you are worthy of it.
    Keep up the good work.
    BTW…I would recognize that eyeball anywhere

    Jim

  2. Oh, this couldn’t be more relevant to me right now! How eerie that I clicked on this link of all links. Anyway, yes we ALL deserve it and are worthy of it. Sometimes we forget. I’m glad I had my “eye” opened recently also! 🙂


Leave a Reply

