abertsquirrel

Thoughts for the Day

Wait a Time in Patience June 13, 2011

Filed under: Coping with Everyday Life — stormskyblue @ 1:08 am

Be Patient.  Just wait.  In a little while.  Not quite yet.  Wait your turn.  After a while.

Most of the time, I am a very patient person.  I’m polite and I can wait my turn.  Sometimes I want to hurry things up; but sometimes, that’s just impossible.

I can’t make time move faster.  I can’t make the people in front of me hurry up.

It can be frustrating; but I know the one thing I can control is how I view the situation.  If I have to wait anyway, I might as well take the opportunity to look around and notice things.  Be positive while I’m being patient.

Sometimes I remember things while I’m waiting.  Things I really needed to remember and would have been mad at myself if I hadn’t done them.  So, perhaps my time in waiting was actually serving a purpose.

I like to think I’m the one in control of my day.  I have it all planned out.  I make lists and check the things off.  I’m efficient.  Then something happens that delays me and my schedule is thrown off.  Sometimes I add things in that I hadn’t planned on because they are convenient.  Sometimes I try to accomplish one thing and I have to come back later to get it done.

It’s just the way it is sometimes.  I don’t think there is a lesson to be learned with every little thing that happens throughout every single day; but then again, how do we know?

Maybe there are lessons to be learned in the waiting.  It’s possible it may be as simple as reminding us to be grateful.

I’m thankful I don’t have to move through this world as a desert tortoise or a bull snake.  Both creatures move pretty slowly; but within their minds, they move at just the right speed.  It’s all they know.

We move at a fast pace these days but there are still times we have to wait.   I desire to be grateful and maybe figure out the reason why I had to  “wait a time in patience”.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

